International SECO Magnel PhD Prize 2020-2021

auditorium award ceremony

International SECO Magnel PhD Prize 2020-2021

In memory of Professor Gustave Magnel, a great scholar and engineer inspiring excellence in research, who was one of its founders and subsequently its managing director, SECO created in 1963 a prize initially known as the ‘Gustave Magnel’ Prize. The goal of this prize is to encourage scientific research applied to construction while recognising researchers working in this field. 

In order to better reflect SECO diversification and international outreach, the ‘Gustave Magnel’ Award has been merged with the ‘Jacques Verdeyen’ Award and is now called ‘International SECO Magnel PhD’ Prize.

This 10.000€ prize is awarded every two years to the author of a doctoral thesis in any construction, civil, structural or architectural engineering or material related topics without any restriction as long as it can be related to the SECO Group activities.

The prize may be awarded to a researcher who has obtained a doctoral degree in the European Higher Education Area during the period 1st January 2020 to 31st December 2021. The researcher must be under 40 years on the date of PhD completion. Doctoral theses may be drafted in Dutch, French, German or English.

The application should be accompanied by a note in which the candidate shows the practical applicability of the scientific work and its possible relationship with the SECO Group activities.

The application should be submitted before November 1st 2022 to SECO, 53 Rue d’Arlon, 1040 Brussels, Belgium (

Read more about the application procedure here:
Awarding regulations of the International SECO Magnel PhD Prize for the period 2020-2021

Other articles